Route of the Big Blind Walk 2018

“The Big Blind Walk may be over, 1,000 miles and in 2 months, but eye research remains an amazing world of discovery, innovation and achievement, persistence and pioneering spirit. We are surrounded by world class professionals fighting to prevent sight loss, treat eye disease and restore sight.”

(For detailed route, please scroll down or click on the circle on the right side.)

 

My journey started at 9:30 am on Sunday 29 April 2018 from Land’s End (Cornwall) and  

finished at John O’Groats (Scotland) at 4pm on 22 June 2018.

Please give generously and help me, help them create a future where everyone can see! 

The DONATE page will remain live until 1 October 2018:

 
 
  Day Date Start End Miles Provisional Route
1 Sunday 29/04/18 Lands End, Cornwall Leedstown, Cornwall 21.1 B3315, B3280
2 Monday 30/04/18 Leedstown, Cornwall Truro, Cornwall 17.2 B3280
3 Tuesday 01/05/18 Truro, Cornwall Lostwithiel, Cornwall 21.9 A390
4 Wednesday 02/05/18 Lostwithiel, Cornwall Launceston, Cornwall 24.7 B3254
5 Thursday 03/05/18 Launceston, Cornwall Okehampton, Devon 18.5 Two Castles Trail
6 Friday 04/05/18 Okehampton, Devon Crediton, Devon 17.6 B3215, A3072
7 Saturday 05/05/18 Crediton, Devon Tiverton, Devon 13.2 A 3072, Exe Valley Way
8 Sunday 06/05/18 Tiverton, Devon Taunton, Somerset 20.0 Grand Western Canal, West Deane Way
9 Monday 07/05/18 Taunton, Somerset Glastonbury, Somerset 22.0 A361, East Deane Way (partial)
10 Tuesday 08/05/18 Glastonbury, Somerset Glastonbury, Somerset   Rest Day
11 Wednesday 09/05/18 Glastonbury, Somerset Frome, Somerset 20.5 A361, Mendip Way (from Shepton Mallet)
12 Thursday 10/05/18 Frome, Somerset Castle Combe, Wiltshire 20.3 Macmillan Way
13 Friday 11/05/18 Castle Combe, Wiltshire Stroud, Gloucestershire 21.6 Macmillan Way
14 Saturday 12/05/18 Stroud, Gloucestershire Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire 22.0 A4173, Severn Way
15 Sunday 13/05/18 Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire Holt Fleet, Worcestershire 24.0 Severn Way
16 Monday 14/05/18 Holt Fleet, Worcestershire Bridgnorth, Shropshire 23.5 Severn Way
17 Tuesday 15/05/18 Bridgnorth, Shropshire Sports Village, Shrewsbury 26.0 Severn Way, Shropshire Way
18 Wednesday 16/05/18 Sports Village, Shrewsbury Grindley Brook, Shropshire 21.0 Shropshire Way
19 Thursday 17/05/18 Grindley Brook, Shropshire Frodsham, Cheshire 20.0 Sandstone Trail
20 Friday 18/05/18 Frodsham, Cheshire Frodsham, Cheshire   Rest Day
21 Saturday 19/05/18 Frodsham, Cheshire St Helens, Merseyside 18.5 Cross Mersey via Silver Jubilee Bridge
22 Sunday 20/05/18 St Helens, Merseyside Preston, Lancashire 24.7 B5206, Leeds Liverpool Canal
23 Monday 21/05/18 Preston, Lancashire Lancaster, Lancashire 20.8 A6/Lancaster Canal
24 Tuesday 22/05/18 Lancaster, Lancashire Milnthorpe, Cumbria 14.0 Lancashire Coastal Way/Arnside & Silverdale
25 Wednesday 23/05/18 Milnthorpe, Cumbria Windermere, Cumbria 15.7 A5074
26 Thursday 24/05/18 Windermere, Cumbria Rosthwaite, Cumbria 19.6 Red Bank/Cumbria Way from Skelwith Bridge
27 Friday 25/05/18 Rosthwaite, Cumbria Keswick, Cumbira 8.5 Cumbria Way
28 Saturday 26/05/18 Keswick, Cumbria Caldbeck, Cumbia 14.5 Cumbria Way
29 Sunday 27/05/18 Caldbeck, Cumbia Carlisle, Cumbria 15.5 Cumbria Way
30 Monday 28/05/18 Carlisle, Cumbria Carlisle, Cumbria   Rest Day
31 Tuesday 29/05/18 Carlisle, Cumbria Ecclefechan, Dumfries & Galloway 19.5 B7076
32 Wednesday 30/05/18 Ecclefechan, Dumfries & Galloway Moffat, Dumfries & Galloway 22.1 B7076
33 Thursday 31/05/18 Moffat, Dumfries & Galloway Abington, South Lanarkshire 17.9 B7076
34 Friday 01/06/18 Abington, South Lanarkshire Lesmahagow, South Lanarkshire 14.3 B7078
35 Saturday 02/06/18 Lesmahagow, South Lanarkshire Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire 18.8 Carlisle Road, B7078
36 Sunday 03/06/18 Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire Strathblane, Stirling 17.1 Campsie Road, John Muir Way
37 Monday 04/06/18 Strathblane, Stirling Strathblane, Stirling   Rest Day
38 Tuesday 05/06/18 Strathblane, Stirling Rowardennan, Stirling 19.7 A81, West Highland Way
39 Wednesday 06/06/18 Rowardennan, Stirling Inverarnan, Stirling 13.5 West Highland Way
40 Thursday 07/06/18 Inverarnan, Stirling Bridge of Orchy, Argyll & Bute 19.5 West Highland Way
41 Friday 08/06/18 Bridge of Orchy, Argyll & Bute Kings House 13.0 West Highland Way
42 Saturday 09/06/18 Kings House Fort William. Highlands 23.5 West Highland Way
43 Sunday 10/06/18 Fort William. Highlands Fort William. Highlands   Rest Day
44 Monday 11/06/18 Fort William. Highlands South Laggan, Highlands 23.0 Great Glen Way
45 Tuesday 12/06/18 South Laggan, Highlands Invermoriston, Highlands 18.0 Great Glen Way
46 Wednesday 13/06/18 Invermoriston, Highlands Drumnadrochit, Highlands 14.5 Great Glen Way
47 Thursday 14/06/18 Drumnadrochit, Highlands Inverness, Highlands 20.0 Great Glen Way
48 Friday 15/06/18 Inverness, Highlands Inverness, Highlands   Rest Day
49 Saturday 16/06/18 Inverness, Highlands Alness, Highlands 25.0 John o’Groats Trail/A9
50 Sunday 17/06/18 Alness, Highlands Dornoch, Highlands 20.0 John o’Groats Trail/A9
51 Monday 18/06/18 Dornoch, Highlands Brora, Highlands 17.5 John o’Groats Trail/A9
52 Tuesday 19/06/18 Brora, Highlands Helmsdale, Highlands 11.0 John o’Groats Trail/A9
53 Wednesday 20/06/18 Helmsdale, Highlands Dunbeath, Highlands 15.0 John o’Groats Trail/A9
54 Thursday 21/06/18 Dunbeath, Highlands Wick, Highlands 21.0 John o’Groats Trail/A9, A99
55 Friday 22/06/18 Wick, Highlands John O’Groats 19.0 John o’Groats Trail/A99